F3 团队发起了一项全球竞争, 以创建一种无鱼的鱼油替代品。

水产养殖的可持续发展受限于供应链中的一个关键瓶颈

水产养殖依赖于利用海洋野生鱼类加工制作而成的鱼粉和鱼油。

物价上涨和供应波动易引致行业动荡

我们需要鱼油替代品, 因此水产养殖可以继续增长。

比赛赢了 100 k +, 与 9竞争对手.

注册于2018年4月30日关闭

合作机会 可在2018年11月30日前提供。

关键问题

飞速发展的水产养殖业为全世界提供了将近一半的水产品,但其饲料所需的关键原料却成为制约该行业可持续发展的一个重大瓶颈。这个关键原料就是海洋鱼类成分,即鱼粉鱼油,通常由一种或多种海洋鱼类加工而成。由于过度捕捞等原因,海洋资源面临枯竭,海洋鱼类原料变得越发稀缺,供应波动较大,价格也在一路上涨。许多从业者一直在寻找创新的替代源,期望摆脱对海洋鱼类资源的依赖。

更为严重的是,水产养殖对海洋野生小型鱼类的依赖可能会影响到捕捞渔业。因为这些小型油性鱼类,又称“饵料鱼”(例如沙丁、鯷鱼和鲱),通常是捕捞渔业中的大型鱼类例如鳕鱼、鲑鱼、金枪鱼等的天然食物。而目前大多数饵料鱼都被磨碎做成了水产饲料。除此之外,这些小鱼还是海鸟和海洋哺乳动物如鲸鱼、海豹和海豚的天然食物。 如果处于海洋食物链中心的小型鱼类灭绝了, 那么依赖它们的生命也将不复存在。

水产养殖业已经取得巨大进步,大幅提高了鱼粉和鱼油的利用转化效率。但专家们都表示,该行业若想继续增长,需要更多的努力,来寻找替代成分。

目前对于蛋白替代源的利用已经规模化,且不会对鱼类生长和健康产生任何负面影响。然而,寻找经济可行的鱼油替代品及其规模化生产依旧面临重重困难。

挑战

开发非鱼基 "鱼油" 替代品 鱼油含有许多必需脂肪酸。其中的一种, DHA, 可从非鱼类来源, 如藻类。然而, DHA 只是鱼类营养所必需的必需脂肪酸之一。创新的鱼油替代品含有其他必需脂肪酸, 如 EPA 和阿糖在一个最佳比率, 以模拟在饲料鱼类中发现的平均脂肪酸剖面是这次挑战的目标.本次挑战旨在减少对野生渔业资源的捕捞压力,加速提供具有竞争力且经济可行的鱼油替代品。为加速创新, 以替代鱼油和广泛采用无鱼饲料, F3 鱼油挑战已汇编的目标值从四已知的脂肪酸剖面发现的饲料鱼, 参赛者必须满足。

为什么参加?

比奖励更重要的是, 参与者可以获得重要的公共关系和媒体的关注。的前F3 (无鱼饲料) 挑战在过去一年的新闻报道中被提到过100次。这些故事经常被命名为参与者, 并以美国和国外的水产产业为目标。此外, 有资格的 F3oils 的参与者将应邀参加2019年2月在加利福尼亚州旧金山举行的以水产养殖替代成分为重点的邀请会议。参与者将有机会向投资者、饲料公司和媒体展示他们的产品。

谁能参加?

本次竞赛面向计划或正在销售非鱼基鱼油替代品 (“F3替代油”) 的公司开放,关于替代油的定义标准请查询《挑战规则》。比赛期间,替代油必须直接或经分销渠道间接销售给终端水产养殖户。查看《挑战规则》

如何获胜?

奖金将颁发给售出最多 DHA + EPA + ARA的团队,按比赛结束时“合格F3替代油”的销售量来算。 DHA + EPA + ARA的销售量计算公式如下:((DHA浓度+ EPA浓度+ ARA浓度)) 每单位F3替代油中的必需脂肪酸水平乘以((F3替代油的销售总量)).

F3oil 标准

F3oil 要符合挑战奖, 必须符合以下条件产品标准:F3oil 必须:

  1. 用干粉或液体形式
  2. 不含海洋动物成分
  3. 有符合下表标准的脂肪酸配置文件:

 Omega 6
20:04
ARA (% of total fat)
Omega 3
20:05
EPA (% of total fat)
Omega 3
22:06
DHA (% of total fat)
n3:n6 Ratio
Minimum0.28.44.912
最小值是从沙丁鱼 (太平洋) 的脂肪酸剖面,鳀鱼, 鲱鱼 (大西洋) 和鲱鱼鱼油 (NRC, 2011). 手机用户: 向右滑动表以查看完整的条件值集。

F3oil 样品提交要求.

销售标准:销售的 F3oil 必须专门用于水产养殖饲料产品。 销售必须由客户跟踪, 并且仅代表 F3oil。 销售卷必须按时间线部分中概述的常规频率报告。客户联系信息必须提供给法官, 但这将被保密。

比赛时间

注册于2017年9月4日开放, 比赛于2019年9月15日结束。查看赛程表

若有任何问题,请联系我们

赞助商

保持消息灵通

订阅我们的邮件列表。

支持我们

成为奖品的 crowdfunder。




了解更多信息.

分享这

Aquaculture is poised to grow, but faces a key bottleneck in its supply chain.

Aquaculture depends on Fishmeal and Fish Oil from Wildcaught Fish.

Rising prices and Supply fluctuations cause industry instability.

We Need Fish Oil Substitutes, so aquaculture can continue to grow.  

Join the F3 Fish Oil Challenge

ENTER TO WIN $100K+!!

The challenge is open to companies that aim to make and sell fish oil substitutes.

Registration Closed on April 30, 2018

Partnership opportunities available until November 30, 2018.

The Problem

Fish farms, or aquaculture, now provide about half of the world’s seafood, and are poised to grow. But aquaculture’s key feed ingredient faces a supply-chain bottleneck.  Fishmeal and fish oil supplies fluctuate; they are growing scarce; and their prices are rising.  Fish farm owners need new and reliable ingredients to derisk their supply chain, and ensure continued production and growth.

What is more, reliance on small, wild-caught fish threatens commercial fisheries since in the wild, fish for commercial markets such as cod, salmon, tuna, eat these smaller, oily “forage fish”  (sardines, anchovies and menhaden). Currently, most of these forage fish are ground up to feed for aquaculture. These small fish also sustain seabirds and marine mammals such as whales, seals and dolphins.  If these fish at the center of the ocean food chain disappear, so will the life that depends on it.

The industry has made tremendous strides to vastly increase the productivity of fishmeal and oil, but if it is to expand, most scientists agree that more needs to be done to find alternative ingredients.

Alternative sources of protein exist that can substitute for protein without any impact on fish growth and health.  However, there is no substitute for fish oil that is cost-effective and available at scale.  

The Challenge 

To Create a Fish-Free ‘Fish Oil’ Substitute Fish oil contains a number of essential fatty acids. One of those, DHA, is available from non-fish sources such as algae. However, DHA is only one of the essential fatty acids necessary for fish nutrition. Innovating a fish oil replacement that contains other essential fatty acids such as EPA and ARA in an optimal ratio to mimic the average fatty acid profile found in forage fish is the next challenge. The goal of this challenge is to reduce demand pressures on wild-caught stocks, by accelerating the availability of cost-competitive, viable alternatives to fish oil. To accelerate innovation towards an alternative for fish oil and the widespread adoption of fish-free feeds, the F3 Fish Oil Challenge has compiled the target values from four known fatty acid profiles found in forage fish that the contestants must meet. 

Why Participate? 

More important than the prize reward, participants gain access to significant public relations and media attention. The previous F3 (Fish-Free Feed) Challenge was mentioned over 100 times in news stories during the past year. The stories often named participants, and are targeted towards the aquafeed industry in the U.S. and abroad. In addition, participants with qualifying F3oils will be invited to an invitation-only meeting focused on alternative ingredients for aquaculture, to be held in San Francisco, California in February 2019. Participants will have the opportunity to present their products to investors, feed companies, and media.

Who Can Participate?

The contest is open to companies that sell or aim to sell a fish-free fish oil (“F3oil”) substitute as described in Product Criteria outlined in the challenge rules.  These sales can be directly to end customers in aquaculture or indirectly through distribution channels during the contest period.  VIEW CHALLENGE RULES

How to Win

The prize will be awarded to the team that has sold the greatest amount of DHA + EPA + ARA as calculated from sales of Qualified F3oil(s) by the end of the Challenge. Amount of DHA + EPA + ARA will be calculated using the following formula: (concentration of DHA + concentration of EPA + concentration of ARA) per unit of a single F3oil Type sold multiplied by (number of such F3oil Type sold).

F3oil Criteria

For an F3oil to qualify towards the Challenge prize, it must meet the following Product Criteria: The F3oil must:

  1. be in dry powder or liquid form
  2. be free of marine animal ingredients
  3. have a fatty acid profile that meets the criteria in the table below:

 Omega 6
20:04
ARA (% of total fat)
Omega 3
20:05
EPA (% of total fat)
Omega 3
22:06
DHA (% of total fat)
n3:n6 Ratio
Minimum0.28.44.912
Minimum values are from the fatty acid profiles of Sardine (Pacific), Anchovy, Herring (Atlantic), and Menhaden fish oils (NRC, 2011). Mobile phone users: Swipe table to right to see the full set of criteria values.

F3oil Sample Submission Requirements.

Sales Criteria: The F3oil sold must be specifically for use in aquaculture feed products.  The sales must be tracked by customer, and represent only F3oil.  The sales volumes must be reported at a regular frequency as outlined in the timeline section. Customer contact information must be provided to the judges, but this will be kept confidential.

Contest Duration

Registration opens on September 4, 2017 and the contest concludes on September 15, 2019. VIEW TIMELINE

Please contact us for any questions related to the challenge.

Any Questions?

Support

Become a crowdfunder of the prize.




Learn More.

Stay Informed

Subscribe to our mailing list.

Share This